GRE: Teaching should be both a pull and push, where praise is given when the student does right

GRE: The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I agree with this statement to a certain extent. The best way to teach should comprise of a very effective feedback system, where student quickly learn what is right through encouragement and what is wrong through appropriate critique. While it is true that praising positive actions is a huge part of teaching, negative actions should not be ignored. Instead, negative actions should be pointed out for the student to avoid repeating the mistake and learn the correct way to do it.

Positive actions should be praised and hence encouraged so that the student continues to do more of it. For example, when learning to drive, constantly checking the rearview mirrors and blind sides before turning is a good habit and can help avoid a potential car accident. A teacher praising the student is carrying out positive reinforcement of this behaviour, where the student would continue doing or even do more of this action, hence facilitating the learning process.

However, teaching is not a one-way road, negative actions or mistakes should be pointed out actively so that the student can avoid repeating it. Using the driving example again, perhaps the student has a habit of swerving the car away when a car overtakes him on the side. This can be a very dangerous habit to have as he might then crash into another car which happens to be driving near on the other side. If ignored, this student might not even notice this mistake and continue driving this way, endangering the lives of many. Hence, negative actions should be pointed out and made aware to the students for his improvement.

Lastly, the common saying, "to learn from your mistake" rings true in this case. One of the best ways to learn is to learn from wrongdoings. Negative actions not only needs to be pointed out, it should be actively corrected with the alternative behavior taught to the student. If the negative actions are ignored, the student will never learn how to do it the correct way. Tutorial questions in classes are marked and then corrected, teaching the students where they have gone wrong and what are the right solutions.

Therefore, teaching should be both a pull and push, where praise is given when the student does right and critique should be doled out where mistakes are made. A balanced method that gives feedback appropriately would serve to direct the student towards success most effectively.