Teachers should teach academic or social subjects

Most people think that teachers should teach students how to judge right and wrong and how to behave well. Some feel that people should just teach students academic subjects. Present arguments for and against the above opinion. Which one do you agree with?

Selection of topics for education is often very controversial. While I agree that teachers can teach their students to build up appropriate behaviours and fair judgments, I personally think it is more important to teach them academic subjects at schools.

On the one hand, teaching students to distinguish good and bad, right and wrong is very difficult to be subjective. These social standards are common senses, they are not straight forward enough to be documented and explained logically as a subject. Content delivered in class differs from teachers to teachers, depends on their personal viewpoints. Moreover, it could be even counter-effective if the teacher does not act according to what he or she teaches. I think the best approach o teach youngsters how to evaluate a situation is by examples, set by both parents and teachers, wherever possible.

On the other hand, academic subjects are often so pragmatic and deep that only teachers are qualified to educate others. Teachers are often trained well in their subjects. Schools can purchase more facilities to encourage students to apply their academic knowledge to gain experience. For example, learning Chemistry from a teacher with school equipment help students remember the lesson through practice. Each subject curriculum can be built and governed by Ministry of Education to maintain consistence across different schools and teachers. In this way, relocated students adapt to the new school and subjects more quickly.

In conclusion, I believe teachers should teach academic subjects in classes and set good examples of social behaviours whenever possible for their students to follow.