IELTS: Taxpayers don't need pay for public education system in which their children are not enrolled

Thanks for reviewing my essays. Please review this one too. thanks for your time.

Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, governments across the world have imposed heavier tax on taxpayers, because of global recession and economic downtrend. This has impacted the citizens heavily. Under these circumstances, I think it is unethical for the government to expect tax for public education system from tax payers whose children are not registered under these systems.

There are many reasons why paying tax for public education system is not justified when one's children are not enrolled in these systems. First of all, there is a growing concern across the world that tax payers money are misused by people in power. For instance, the recent bridge construction scam exposed by the media amounts to more than $100 million of public money. Situations like these demotivate the average tax payer. Furthermore, when they have to pay tax for services which they don't use, I think it is unjustified on their part to pay tax for public education system.

Another important reason why tax should not be collected from parents whose wards are educated in private schools is that, the quality of education provided by these public education systems are deteriorating. Since these schools are managed by the government entities, teachers and staffs tend to be lethargic, owing to less accountability. Therefore, taxpayers question the need to pay taxes to such improper education system, in which their children are not enrolled.

In conclusion, improper public fund utilization and poor education system are major dampeners for average citizens to pay their hard earned money as taxes for services that they do not use. I strongly believe this is justified and correct that taxpayers need not pay for public education system in which their children are not enrolled.