IELTS TASK2:Shopping as a replacement of hobbies and other leisure activities.

Hello forumers.Once again I am sharing my essay.Feedback and advice are always welcome.

I am fully aware that I have overused the word "shopping". I just don't have other means of replacing it.

TASK:Nowadays, many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people choose as their hobby. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's world, more and more people love to go shopping. They enjoyed buying things not only for themselves but also for others. Thus, it has been preferred over other types of leisure activities and hobbies. Impacts of this development will be taken into consideration.

The perception of people on shopping has greatly evolved. In earlier times, people buy things such as food and clothing for the purpose of preparing supplies to be consumed in the coming days. Nowadays, they have considered shopping as a means of rewarding themselves for working hard. Furthermore, others tried to work hard to earn money for the things they want to buy. Shoppers claim that they felt so relaxed and contented whenever they go around malls and buy things. These perspectives leave other forms of leisure activity less appealing.

Consumers play an important role in a nation's economic industry. The growth of a country's economy greatly depends on how the market flows. If one vital component such as a consumer is not participating, the cycle will be broken. Thus, a country's financial status is deemed to be in trouble. Therefore the more people spend their money, the more chances their nation's economy will grow.

On the other hand, there are also undesirable results brought about by this development. Firstly, spending money or walking around supermarket and malls involves very less physical and mental activities. Undoubtedly, choosing it over hobbies like biking and hiking would mean a person's negligence to his own health. Secondly, there is a great tendency that most shoppers become materialistic. Their preferences are more inclined to brand names and signature items regardless of price. Moreover, these kinds of shoppers usually overspend causing them to be in major debt problems.

In a holistic approach shopping brings benefits to a society. However, looking at the impacts it can do to an individual's character, prioritizing shopping over other forms of leisure activity is regarded as a negative development.