IELTS Task 2. Where Talent Comes From

It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Possessing a particular talent either in music or sport is highly desired by many people. In my country, there is a controversial argument about how this ability owned by children. Some says that it is born while others think that it is formed purely through training. This essay aims to explain both these views.

It is commonly seen that children whose parents work as great singer will become a singer as well. For instance, Al, El, and Dul, sons of a famous Indonesian singer, Ahmad Dhani, achieve their great career in music easily. It seems that their ability in playing guitar, piano, drum, and the other musical instruments appears naturally without hard training and practice. Thus, some people believe that a skill is inherited and has been already existed since a baby is born.

However, the other people believe that everyone has the same chance to be expert on something, depend on how big their effort to struggle to learn. By registering their child in a badminton club, many parents are successful to bring their kid win a particular badminton competition, although when they were in school, they never reached such kind of achievement. It means that training plays big role in determining kind of talent that someone might own.

From explanation above, it seems that to judge either talent is born or is learned is quite complicated as both have the same strength of base reasons. However, to gain the best result, it is highly suggested to keep struggle with a particular skill that we want.