Successful Women in Saudi Arabia
Essay on Successful Women in Saudi Arabia
Success is the achievement of something desired or planned. The definition of
success varies between people. For example, some people think that success
comes from hard work, and other think that it can come from having a good social
life. Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of
enthusiasm. For instance, if you want to be a doctor or a scientist, you are going to
face some difficulties. Successful people know how to cope with these difficulties
and they never give up. We have many successful women in Saudi Arabia who
excelled in three fields such as Dr.Samia Al-Amoudi who graduated from College of
Medicine, the scientist Hayat Sindi who graduated from College of Science, and the
business woman Ameerah Altwaeel who graduated from University of New Havan.
The first successful woman is Dr.Hayat Sindi. She was born in Saudi Arabia. She left
home in Mekkah as a teen to go to study in UK to become a scientist. Dr.Sindi was the first
Saudi woman who was accepted to Cambridge University to study biotechnology. Also, she
went to obtained her Ph.D, and became a visiting scholar at Harvard University. Moreover,
she became the first Arab women to have a fellowship in the American innovation network
Pop Tech. In addition, the National Geographic announced that Dr. Sindi is one of the best
14 scientists who could change the world for the better. She invented a biochemical sensor
to diagnose some diseases. Furthermore, Dr.Hayat Sindi always supports science and
education, especially in Saudi Arabia.
The second successful woman is Dr. Samia Al-Amoudi. She is an Associate
Professor at King Abdulaziz University in Jeddah and a Consultant Obstetrician
Gynecologist. Moreover, she was one of the first groups of medical students that
graduated from King Abdulaziz University. In April 2006, she was diagnosed with
breast cancer and she is still on treatment. She was the first Saudi to share her
personal problem with the disease with others. Moreover, she wrote thirteen books.
The first book that she wrote was in Saudi Arabia, and this book was about breast
cancer. Also, she received medal of courage from Saudi Cancer foundation in
Dammam. On March2010, she was nominated by Arabian business magazine that
she has made an impact and changes in her society. She is the first women in Saudi
Arabia who established the first Breast Cancer Center at King Abdulaziz University in
Jeddah.
The third successful women is Ameerah Altaweel. She is Alwaleed Bin Talal's wife
and vice of the Board of Trustees of the Alwaleed Bin Talal Foundations. She
graduated with distinction from New Haven University with a degree in Business.
She supported many non-profit organizations of humanitarian interests in both Saudi
Arabia and around the world. These foundations are allocated for supporting
programs and projects at community development, disaster relief, women's
empowerment and interfaith dialogue. Princess Ameerah Alltaweel's life is very
practical. She travels a lot and often in the company with her husband Prince
Alwaleed Bin Talal Alsaud. Since she represents Alwaleed Bin Talal Foundation and
implementing projects, she improved and promoted the image of Saudi women.
Moreover, Princess Ameerah has opened many charities abroad such as Alwaleed
Bin Talal Village which is an orphanage and located in Burkina Faso. Then she
traveled to Pakistan to assist and relief to flood victims in the country. In addition,
she has opened Talal Centre of Islamic Studies at the University of Cambridge,
where she accepted from Prince Philip an 800th Anniversary Medal for Outstanding
Philanthropy. Also, she was supporting her country as well. For example, the
foundation of her husband in Riyadh supported King Fahad Medical City, and she led
a delegation from the Foundations to the Rehabilitation Program for Spinal Cord
Injuries. Also, she has supervised the distribution of 1000Kia to the victims of floods
in Jeddah. Finally, in 2010, Princess Ameerah received the ITP Special Humanitarian
Award on behalf of the Alwaleed Bin Talal Foundation at the Arabian Business
Achievement Awards ceremony.
In conclusion, it seems that these three women are our idols, and we are so
proud of them. You have to know that success is not an impossible dream and
everyone can achieve his dream by being hard worker. Although, some difficulties
faced the three women, but they became successful people. So, if you want to be a
doctor or a scientist ,you have to work hard because it is hard but it is not impossible
to be successful.