IELTS;There is no success without studying our past, so studying History is important

Is it important to study History?

History is the systemic study of the past. Some people hold the opinion that learning about the past is useless. However, I believe that it is important to know about the past mainly because it binds today and tomorrow.

History is a great store of information. People want to know much clearer about their society's establishment and development process is natural. History includes the wisdom and the valuable experience, which helps people today. Consequently, it enables people to avoid repeating mistakes of the past. For instance, when people learn more about the factors, which leads to a riot in the past, make today's, people more vigilant to avoid it in the future. In other words, history is an experience, which you do not need to practice it and it, helps the people to compare between good and bad.

Furthermore, people used tell that 'past is past' or 'history never repeats itself. Yet, there is much in history, which is relevant to our modern life. Studying other historical periods gives insights into different ways of life. As a result, they will be able to compare those societies with our own. Hence, they will be more aware of the advancements in the current society. I short, histories enlighten us to analyze how and why we have changed. People will be conscious about the contributions of their forefathers' and respect them more. Besides, it broadens our wisdom and outlook.

To sum up, there is no successful present without lessons from the past and no future without learning how to live with our past. Since history builds today, the study of history is much significant even in this advanced technological age. This doesn't mean that we are living in the past.