While studying some students take weekend or evening jobs to help with expenses. Share your opinion.

While studying some students take weekend or evening jobs to help with expenditure. how do you feel about this? What are the drawbacks and benefits of such decision?

Answer Essay:

Education undoubtedly plays a vital role in one's life. As demands and desires increase for higher education, the cost to pursue education has also boosted up. Many students are working part-time with their study to make both ends meet. In this essay, both the benefits and drawbacks of working while studying are discussed.

To begin with, students nowadays have number of options to select their course of interest. Many students find their desired program out of their hometown or country. This can lead to an extra financial burden to themselves and their parents. While living away from their own home, students have to manage their own accommodation, food, transportation and other expenses. They opt to take a job to share the financial responsibility with their parents. In other perception, some work experience is required to gain practical knowledge of their studies such as hospitality, medical, engineering.

There are number of benefits of working with study. First, students can enhance their practical exposure which would be very useful when they go to the corporate culture. For example, a student working as a restaurant team member would be easily eligible as restaurant manager with his qualification and work experience. Second, work may broaden their horizons and they will be mature towards money management and there are less chances of their being a spendthrift. They will control their overspending easily. Third, acquisition of the knowledge of time management which the will gain to balance their study and work.

Though there are few drawbacks also of this situation. If a student get good remuneration and perks before completing his studies, they might become money oriented and develop profit-making perspective. This may lead to their distraction from study and in extreme case, they might left their course to earn money. Moreover, if they can not balance their job with college routines they might get stressed and frustrated. The devastating consequences may ruin their future. However these disadvantages can be resolved by proper time management and strong determination to achieve something.

To summarize, I reiterate that besides the drawbacks of working and studying together, which are resolvable, one can take advantage of his work experience to make his future better.