"studying in overseas" - IS IT GOOD TO STUDY ABROAD ?

Going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulty students inevitably encounters living and studying in different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many would be definitely be glad at the thought of being able to pursue their tertiary education abroad. Nevertheless, some argue that it is not good studying in overseas universities as the cultures of the students and the country they go to are dissimilar and this might pose some problems to them. While I admit to the aforementioned statement, I feel that there are plenty of benefits like being able to be independent and having the opportunity to get to know the cultures of other countries if students study in overseas.

First of all, when one studies abroad, he will have to stand on his own feet. Hence, this will inculcate responsibility in him. To illustrate this further, my brother who is currently studying in Russia who previously did not know how to cook, is now a deft hand in cooking. He learnt cooking due to the limited choices of food that was available in Russia when he first went there. Thus, students studying in overseas will be able to look after themselves as all their chores and tasks have to be done by them and this makes them more responsible.

Furthermore, indubitably, when students are in other countries apart from their own nations, they are exposed to the way of life in the place they are. Therefore, this serves as a great chance for them to explore and know in depth about the cultures and traditions of the citizens. For example, they can get more information about the traditional costumes and cuisines apart from the historical places found in the country. Moreover, they can also learn the language of the respective countries they go to in order to communicate with their people. Undoubtedly, this process of learning is much more appealing compared to knowing them from someone and by reading from any sources.

Looking from another perspective, I do agree some students feel homesick if they stay away from family and home for a very long time. My cousin who left to New Zealand to study medicine could not cope alone and frequently fall sick due to missing her family here. Somehow, now she managed to get admission into a local university and is presently happy here. Nonetheless, I feel that this is certainly a small matter and can surely be overcome. Parents should encourage their children to participate in more outdoor activities like camping that requires them to stay away from home for some time. By so doing, students can get used to being away from home.

In conclusion, studying in overseas has both advantages and some drawbacks. However, it is evident that the merits outweigh the disadvantages and proves that it is actually good to study abroad as students can gain vast knowledge and experiences as well as will be able to be more responsible and independent. Since experience is the best teacher, students must keep away the fear of being alone in a new place and take the challenge to study abroad.