Study at home using technology or study at traditional schools?

Could you give me some feedback for this essay and please rate it on the TOEFL scale (0-5):

In the future, students may have the choice at studying at home by using technology such as computers or television or of studying at traditional schools.

Which would you prefer? Use reasons and specific details to explain your choice.

First of all, one needs to take into account, that every student has his own unique learning style. Some students prefer a quiet, isolated environment, others learn better in the presence of others. So, the choice of a learning setting it depends on the individual and his preferences.

Of course, both methods have their advantages and disadvantages. The new technologies offer exciting new opportunities for education as with their help, teachers can design an interactive studying environment. In this way students would be more interested in the subject and would get more from what they are being taught. Another advantage of home schooling is the flexibility of the learning schedule. Students can decide when, where and for how long to study and need not to adapt their lifestyle to the program of the school. It is rather the other way around. Moreover, programs for home study are an effective way to cut costs that can be invested in teaching.

On the other hand, traditional schools have their respective advantages too. Being with other peers in a structured setting such as a classroom may be stimulating for the learning process. Furthermore, the direct contact with the tutor provides with opportunities for fast feedback that can be more complete and accurate than the feedback a student studying from home would get my e-mail. Moreover, a traditional school offers a very important setting where the students learn or improve their social skills. Home study, with all its advantages, could lead to social alienation of the individual. Another problem associated with studying at home is that the lack of structure such as strict schedule could lead to a lack of progress with the learning process. This can be avoided in traditional schools where students are being supervised by a tutor.

It is obvious that both methods offer different opportunities for the educational process, so I would prefer a combination of them: studying at a traditional school that has its own network for online learning thus enhancing the social and learning experience of the school with the new horizons that are being opened by the computing and online technologies.