Students unable to get better jobs though they are getting good grades - GRE

"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors."

The argument claims that the students of Omega University are unable to get better jobs though they are getting good grades in their subjects as these grades do not reflect their performance. The argument mentioned that the professors give the good grades to the students because they are under pressure of evaluation of their performance therefore the Omega university concludes that the procedure of evaluation of professors should abolish. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, upon which the conclusion is evaluated. It relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence and therefor found some fallacies and gap in given argument, which are mentioned below.

First, The argument claims that the management of Omega University might have check the individual performance of all faculties for evaluating they implemented this procedure. Perhaps some faculty members may have not complete the syllabus and they may also run various caching classes outside the university. There is no clear evidence, which shows the students are getting more marks beyond their performance.

Second, The author mentioned in this argument that the overall student grade averages have been increased by 30 percent as compare to previous years results at Omega University. There may be possibility that the test pattern may change and the questions in the test pattern may become easy. Another reason is that students may cheat to the teacher and may copy exam from other students. This is again a weak and unsupported claim which really does not provide clear evidence to convince the prospect.

Finally, The argument assumes that the communication level of the students may not be high so they did not get better jobs in the company like Alpha University Students. There may another possibility that Alpha university may run different type of professional program so Alpha University students get job easily.

In summary, the argument contains a number of unsupported assumptions the cast a doubt on the author's conclusion. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts about terminate the policy of evaluation of professors. In order to access the merits of such situation, it is essential to provide the information related to all contributing factors and circumstances.