The students should do part-time job to look at how different the real world is.

Should the students do part-time job?

Nowadays, more students are doing part-time jobs while at university because working alongside studies would provide them with favorable opportunities. Although some people argue that part-time work can have a negative impact on studies, I still believe that there are lots of reasons for taking on part-time work.

Firstly, working would help students fill gaps in their knowledge, especially for practical knowledge which they may not acquire completely at their schools. For example: A final-year law student should apply for a part-time job as a paralegal in a law firm whereby they could get acquainted with real-life situations rather than law cases in theory. In fact, people learn the best by their experience as the saying goes: "Experience is the best teacher".

Secondly, taking a part-time job is a great opportunity for students to demonstrate their ability. For example: Before an exam, the student needs much time to prepare carefully, but the manager will not accept to pay for a staff who do not devote all their time to working. Therefore, they could cope with some difficulties which would require their strong determination. On the other hand, the students should take this opportunity to show their ability to balance between studying and working, which would develop their profiles to apply for scholarships or other jobs thereafter.

Thirdly, students could obtain the necessary finance to afford their living and studying. The wages would help them cover personal expenses, such as: tuition fees, books, living costs. Because tuition fees at top schools are usually very high, the needy students will have to do part-time jobs to achieve their education dreams. In fact, many famous people experienced hardships before becoming extremely successful, for example: Oprah Winfrey, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Edison, etc.

In conclusion, I believe that students should do a part-time job because they could get valuable experience of working, along with necessary finance for their studies. Despite obstacles, students could grasp this chance to prove their ability. So why don't we take a part-time job to look at how different the real world is ?