Students need to learn practical skills: Agree or disagree?

Topic: Some people think that students at school need to learn practical skills such as repairing a car or maintaining a bank account, in addition to traditional academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and support it with examples.

When I was a high school student I always asked this question to myself that: why should I study pure scientific subjects like physics, chemistry, and the like? I think many other people advocate my opinion that besides theoretical topics, some workshops are also required to immensely ameliorate students skills. Therefore, this essay aims to argue how the implementation of practical workshops and laboratories can help us to make a stronger education system.

To begin with, no theoretical concept is perceived effectively without observing its applications. I am a tutor at the Melbourne University for the subject of Materials. When I give a lecture to my students about fatigue fracture, as an example, they barely see themselves connected to the topic. However, when I show them how a part is failed as a result of alternating loads, which is known as fatigue failure, they completely digest the matter. Thus, if the same system is used for lower degree students, like high school pupils, they will definitely understand subjects more efficiently.

Moreover, providing students with a wide range of workshops will give them a promising opportunity to find out in what profession they are interested. Assume you are studying in a school where different electrical machines, welding equipment, and mechanical testing instruments are available. Posing this educational atmosphere not only familiarizes you with divers industrial environments, but also you can easily recognize in what filed you have talent and probably become successful in your occupational future.

Finally, if schools limit their teaching plans to sciences, the learning atmosphere becomes too strict and even boring for young students. School students are energetic and they need more activities too enjoy their time spending on learning new subjects. If schools take advantage of this fact and employ students' energy to work in workshops, it would positively affect students. In other words, such educative programs that show students how to apply theories in action, change the pure academic school's environment into a place full of sheer joy, where students' professional skills are developed.

In conclusion, the traditional education system, in which only theories are presented, needs a remarkable change. By adding practical workshops not only more skilful students are produced to serve the society, but also it may change schools to fun places.