IELTS essay: Student behavior, causes and solutions.

In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior.

What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Education is essential in modern societies. Students develop various skills and gain knowledge in their school lives. However, many schools are now facing students' lack of discipline, such as disrespectful to the teachers, skipping classes, vandalize public property, to name a few.

I believe that the increasing number of students' misbehaviors is the result of lack of parenting and low fertility rate. In most families, both parents have a job in order to provide for their children. Long hours of work replace the quality time that was cherished few decades ago. Children often feel neglected, and might therefore try to do something mischievous to get the parents' attention. Furthermore, to compensate for the time they spent working, and also due to the fact that they have only one or two children, parents spoil them by agreeing to everything their babies ask. This results in misbehaviors in schools.

To tackle the problem, I believe that the most efficient way is by government funding, which is providing public day-care centers and workshops with volunteered tutors (from local universities) that can provide one-on-one attention where children can complete their assignments and work on extra projects. That way, students have places to go to after school instead of wandering off the streets or watching television at home by themselves. Since there are adults in the centers to supervise them, help them, or listen to them, youngsters can feel a sense of belonging and that there is someone to go to when encountering difficulties.

Children are our future, and it is crucial that we address this issue as early as possible.

(266 words)

This is my first cause/solution essay.

I wanted to write more on the solutions, but found myself running out of time.

Hence the funny one-sentence conclusion. @@!