Speech critique 2 - X's informative speech

Last one, critique please. Thanks again!

This paper discusses X's informative speech. The speech was to convey information about a certain subject that can be supported by empirical data. X's speech was an average one, it had all the elements but was not implemented well. X's organization and closing were average, although his delivery failed.

His speech organization met the minimal requirements. He did not have an interesting hook. He began the speech with an explanation as to why he thought time management was important. I noticed that he had too much information and that resulted in a long-winded speech, making it difficult to stay focused on the speech. His organization was illogical. He talked about how to not. procrastinate, then moved on to the definition and why people procrastinate, and finally going back to how to not procrastinate. Overall, I failed to keep my interest in the speech since it was dry and long. While watching the video, I found that it was difficult to watch the entire speech and ended up fast-forwarding through much of it. The audience probably felt the same way as I do.

X's delivery was bad. From watching the video, I noticed that he tended to look down at his paper most of the time and did not devote adequate amount of time at maintaining eye contact with the audience. It is obvious that he had written many things on his notes and had difficulty with memorization. He didn't meet the clothing requirements, he wore a t-shirt with a baseball cap. He tended to shift his weight a lot more than on his last speech. He spoke in a monotone manner which made it uninteresting. His enunciation was good, I understood everything he said. Another thing that he did well was the placement of his hands which were always situated on the podium. Overall, his delivery was hampered by not meeting the clothing requirements and his lack of eye contact. The audience was probably distracted at reading what was written on his t-shirt.

His closing was average. He provided an overview of everything he talked about. I'm not sure if he emphasized the significance of time management because I was daydreaming. He didn't put in a lot of work with the closing. There was nothing dramatic or memorable about his closing because I forgot everything he talked about the very next day. Even after watching his speech again and writing notes, I still can't recall everything about it.

Overall, the speech was a mediocre one. His organization needs work such as the elimination and reduction of the vast amount of information presented. He could also have taken some time and think about the logical progression of the speech. His eye contact needs improving which could be done with practice, he obviously did not practice. Finally, his closing was average and needed more work on a more effective closing. I would have given him a C.