IELTS: Solving the issues of growing traffic and pollution - Increase petrol price?

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree and disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Government are taking intensive steps to reduce the intensity of pollution in the environment. Price of petrol is the controversial issue, nowadays. Petrol's price is at peak in the world market, and the purpose is to decrease the air pollution and traffic. It is the one solution to control this extreme problem, but this is not an everlasting solution. I disagree to this statement; governments should manipulate this problem by taking other effective measurements.

First and foremost, establish the strong network of public transport in the country. Nowadays, people argue that they cannot complete their work specific time due to lack of public transport. It is the responsibility of government, however, to move anywhere in the town, transport must be available at any time within twenty four hours. As well as, public transport fares should be reasonable, so that everyone take advantage of this facility. For example, Mexico City has strong public transport network, and pollution is under control within this city.

Secondly, create awareness among people about pollution and its' dangerous effects. Government should educate people through media and advertisements. Media is becoming popular, nowadays, it must play vital role in the society to realize how to control pollution.

Lastly, governments take other certain steps, high sale price of cars, reduce the production of private transport and import must be declined, to control these problems. As well as, by reducing import of cars economy of country will be established. Similarly, due to high prices of cars, people will use public transport, and this is another factor to grow economy.

To sum up, governments must take these above mentioned measurements against those severe problems. Although, price of petrol is not enough solution.