IELTS: solve growing traffic and pollution problems - people's awareness

topic: In creasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems? To what extend do you agree or dis agree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

The price of petrol has risen recently. Some people consider it as the best way to reduce traffic as well as pollution problems. In my opinion, I dissent from the statement that increasing the price of petrol can solve these problems.

Transportation is one of the most essential needs of humans. I would therefore believe that the number of vehicles still increase gradually whether the cost of petrol grow or not. Every day, we have to travel to work, college or someplace, and we cannot reach our destination without using a certain vehicle if the distance is not short. Thus, I would argument that the rising of petrol's price just burden people's financial condition. This way does not mitigate traffic problems or polluted smoke, and it even makes many people impoverished.

On the other hand, there are alternative ways to abate traffic and pollution matters. We can solve these issues by encouraging people taking public vehicles instead of using private means of transport. If we want so, we must upgrade public transport system and create better conditions for people who use public transport to travel every day. We also reduce polluted smoke by inventing vehicles that use solar energy to run. Finally, which is important to resolve these issues is people's awareness which can be improved through education and propaganda.

In conclusion, I do think that traffic and pollution matters cannot be solved by growing the cost of petrol which just benefits a few social groups.