Smoking law that was inflicted on Quebec, use examples in relation to Jeremy Bentham

2. (smoking law that was inflicted on Quebec, use examples in relation to Jeremy Bentham)

A few years ago, Quebec has brought upon its province a no-smoking law inside public buildings. Many people were satisfied; however there were many people that were upset after this law took place. The supporters were happy because they would not have to breathe in smoke all the time and hopefully it would encourage people to quit the terrible habit of smoking as well. The opposers are particularly the bar owners throughout Quebec. Bars were the main place people used to go to if they wanted to smoke publicly. Because of this new law inflicted, bars lost a lot of jobs, and statistics show it. Of about 8,000 bars in the province of Quebec, 10 had to shut down and another 10 were on the brink of closing. The others remained concerned and tried to complain as much as they could. Jeremy Bentham, a well-known philosopher deeply believed in the concept of Utilitarianism. Bentham was an ethical scholar and believed that Utilitarianism represented the contribution to happiness or pleasure. It also refers to the fact that pleasure is determined to happiness and that laws should only be passed if they promote the most amount of happiness or for the most amount of people, which the majority. The majority of the people in Quebec would support Bentham's theory of Utilitarianism in regards to the newly passed smoking law. It certainly does promote the most amount of happiness for the most amount of people, which is in fact the majority of the province. Many arguments have started after this law had been passed. For instance, would reversing the law be bad for society? The bar owners definitely believe that the law should be reversed, especially because they are losing significant amounts of money. They think the law is "paternalistic, excessive, abusive and far too broad" as they are obviously upset due to their loss in business. On a different note, I believe that this law will promote success for the future. Smoking is a terrible habit and it is about time the government started to do something about it. I believe the government is trying something new and experimenting with the law. This can be much better for Quebec's society, however not specifically for the bars, but for Quebec's citizens in general. This leads to better health standards (as smoking is terrible for the human body), and better awareness so to speak. Overall, the new smoking law is benefiting more people and is leading to the most amount of happiness possible, which Jeremy Bentham would totally agree.