Smoking effects and smoking ban; IELTS

Hi, here is my essay for the Ielts task 2. Could you give me feedback for ideas, syntax, grammar and other comments? Thanks so much.

Smoking can cause serious illnesses and should be made illegal. To what extent do you agree?

In recent decades, there is a contention in many circles that whether smoking should be made illegal or not. It is obviously that there is no defense for the harmful effects of smoking on both smoker and those who are around them. However, there are still some reasons for accepting this activity with some limitations and warnings.

Many researches have done with the conclusions about the overwhelming adverse impacts to health. Smoking not only harms the smokers themselves but also those around them who are affecting by so-called passive smoking. It is not just one of the major risks of the heart attacks or strokes; smoking is also the main reason of lung and liver cancer which are diseases that people have not yet found out any solution for them. In addition, smoking shortens a human significantly.

In spite of these dangers, governments still have not put a complete ban on this kind of product. The efforts to make smoking be illegal just result in forming the so-called black markets where some people still sell and consume tobaccos illegally, and consequently increasing the level of associated crime.

Finally, the decision to ban smoking, although there are some advantages such as protecting people, especially non-smoking people from adverse effects of smoke or keeping all people in a healthy environment, would be more likely to have much negative effects and unfeasible. It would, therefore, be better for the governments to continue campaigns that educate people about the potential dangers of this action instead of banning them.