A single career (old-fashion) OR several careers to earn more money

The idea of having a single career is becoming an old-fashioned one. The new fashion is to have several careers and ways of earning money and further education is something that continues throughout our lives.

Many people keep an idea of having a single career as a means of living through their lives. However, there appears a new trend of having several careers at the same time, followed by further education as an indispensible part of life.

When technologies were not developed and world economy is still stable at a low rate of unemployment, people were likely to live well with their single careers. They could enjoy the stability of job, find job satisfaction and they didn't have a need of changing jobs. Therefore, they may try to become the best in their fields to guarantee a comfortable life for their families. In addition, chances for new jobs are not accessible to people due to the lack of development in telecommunication, transportation. It may be the main reasons why they stick their lives to a single career.

However, things are different these days .Firstly, with effective support of advanced technologies especially computers, people can have a variety of career choices and job chances are widely available in different fields. Secondly, people can go further from home to work or work at home due to modern means of transportation, telecommunications and work flexibility. They can take up several careers currently as long as they can complete their work well. Last but not least, in period of economy crisis, people are in a high risk of being unemployed so they have to self-prepare by seeking other options. To deal with a pile of work in several careers, people need to have certain knowledge and professional skills, which promote them to follow further education.

Further education should be a process of learning throughout your life .In a competitive society, chances are opened to everyone but success just come to individuals who can update themselves to catch up with the development of society. Consequently, it's very urgent for people to collect knowledge relevant to their jobs and master necessary professional skills.

In conclusion, the trend of multi-career becomes increasingly common and it is gradually replacing the trend of single career. It is clear that whatever trend you may follow, you have to study nonstop for your own survival and development.