IELTS 2: Shopping as a hobby. Why? Good or Bad!

Shopping is inevitable for everyone. Yet, it has dramatically changed its dynamics more recently as numbers of people prefer to spend their free time in shopping malls. This trend has taken the form of a hobby and has replaced many leisure activities. It is agreed that shopping as a fun activity is an unhealthy trend seriously affecting our society. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss reasons for this happening as well as points supporting my opinion.

This is largely attributed to the role of Media strongly affecting its audience. Take an example of dress shows excessively highlighted by TV channels. People watching these programs tend to copy these designs and wander around shops for countless hours. Similarly, lavish life styles shown in dramas affect many young-ones and they try to follow the same by any means. Also, stardom plays a key role enticing people to live a life-style like their heroes.

Disadvantages of shopping as a hobby outweigh its advantage. First, people waste considerable amount of their free time that could be used on more fruitful activities. For instance, week-end spend with family going out for a trip will bring more happiness for an individual as well as family. It will strengthen family ties and energise a person for week ahead. Second, inability to buy costly things will give rise to extreme stress and anxiety. As a result, society will become even tense.

From above discussion, it is clear that quickly evolving trend of using free time in shopping places is not a very good advancement. It may become a basis for dissatisfaction among people in society. It is therefore highly recommended to use free time in more constructive hobbies.