How to select your career ? Status/ Salary or Satisfaction?

"some people choose a career according to the social status and salary it will give them. Others choose a career according to whether they will enjoy the work."

Which do you think is best way to choose a career? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The Best Ways of Selecting a Professional Career

Selecting a career path is one of the most critical choices in one's life. However, the reasons of which people are selecting their careers upon are varied from one person to another. Although contested by many, it is argued that selecting a career that you enjoy working with is more beneficial. This can be proven by analyzing how it can help improve both productivity and happiness among people.

When people do something because they like it, they usually product better by bringing new ideas and working harder to produce the perfect product. A research took place at Osmania University in India three years ago, showed that people who like their jobs are never late and never leave early. Moreover, they take a minimum time for lunch break. In fact most of them have lunch while working. As this example shows, better productivity is attributed to selecting a career that you enjoy.

In addition, people feel happier in their life when they like their work. For instance, one of my friends who works as a doctor and is picking up a huge salary, complains all the time about his work and the pressure that he is facing. While his brother who is a painter is very happy with his work, even when his income is much smaller than his brother's. it is clear that people get happy when they work in a field that they enjoy.

In a nutshell, I can confidently say that choosing a career that you enjoy working with makes you both a better worker in the society and happier. Hence, I hope that people consider what work they like to do more than anything else.