IELTS: Nowadays, many secondary schools teach business and communication skills

IELTS: Nowadays, many secondary schools teach business and communication skills that help students get a job instead of traditional subjects such as history. Do you agree or disagree with this change?

With the increasing unemployment rate, many parents prefer schools to provide lessons that are helpful for students to prepare for a future job, such as business or communication classes. As a result, the number of classes such as history and ethics are decreasing. It seems that this change needs to be considered due to the fact that traditional subjects also have their benefits as much as business classes do.

It is true that more benefits exist when subjects related to students' potential occupations are introduced at the early stage. It provides a broader background that helps decide their future careers. It then allows them to make a better choice of a subject at a tertiary education. Furthermore, if an individual found an interest in such a class, they are more likely to study and develop the relevant skills earlier than others. It gives more opportunity to success in the filed they choose. Thus, such classes are preferably recommended.

The importance of traditional classes, however, should not be neglected because they are also helpful for individuals' career. One benefit could be that it allows students to foster a better personality by learning moral values in ethics classes and experiencing ancestors' lessons in history classes. Also, a broader knowledge of such subjects will let students to solve problems in a variety of perspectives. These benefits are definitely a positive factor not only for their career but also for personal interaction skills and therefore such classes are as equally important as business classes are.

In conclusion, even though there is a high demand for schools to have business or communication skill subjects, schools should not decrease the number of classes of traditional subjects. That is because students will also have benefits from learning history or ethics when it comes to the employment.