School Uniforms would decrease the violence in schools: GRE Perspective Essay

Prompt: School Uniforms would decrease the violence in schools and increase the potential for learning.

I definitely agree with the author's statement. Enforcing uniforms in public and private schools alike would be a major deterrence to bullying and violence among school mates. It would not only reduce the episodes of constant teasing and satirical remarks, but also would ultimately prove on the long run to enhance the focus and attention of students on the learning material in the classroom setting. Although some might view them as a form of constraint and manacles to their free will, the benefits outweigh this minor inconvenience.

In an interview aired recently on the television, psychologists from three distinct countries, the United States, Russia and Japan, widely separated geographically, aver that the majority of teasing in schools is caused by the kid's type of clothing. Personal attire contributes to the type of friends these children ultimately make and dictates the cliques they join. This creates a self-esteem dilemma, that reflects on the school performance of those students. Having a school uniform, where all students are dressed equally, will definitely reduce such boundaries and vanquish existing superficial prejudices based on what a child wears.

Closely related to this idea, is the goading of braggarts about the latest fashion hits, being brought into the hallways and classrooms. Without knowing it, these kids gain a reputation of being selfish and fastidious. Some might view themselves as being downright special and demand adulation and favorable treatment, even from their teachers. Creating a setting where all the school children view each other with similar outfits will help bridge forms of communication between them, instead of feeding anger and envy.

Furthermore, since some students can afford purchasing brand-name products while others are running on a tight budget, it is absurd to expect those less fortunate kids not to hold a grudge against their fellow school mates for possessing such items. In some extreme forms, this has actually lead to cases of petty theft, pocket lifting, and even stealing from lockers as I was attending middle school. This is hardly an environment which nourishes the minds of tomorrow and is incapable of upbringing emotionally stable adults into our communities. Although a school uniform will not completely abolish such incidences since accessories and cell phones are a necessity nowadays, but it is a step in the right direction and will cut back on them.

In addition, from personal experience, having a school uniform in my school has proved to be extremely practical. No more gazing around the closet every morning in search of the perfect outfit. Even my friends have admitted that they cut back on those endless hours spent in shopping sprees at the mall once a uniform was enforced. This is a key point when taking into account the possible alternate ways of putting this time into beneficial use, such as the participation in extracurricular activities and events or joining on-campus clubs.

In conclusion, my proponent view on the issue of school uniforms takes into account the potential emotional issues students struggle with as they are heading off to school each day and the creation of an environment where all of them feel better about themselves in order to profit from the teaching of their instructors.