GRE: Scandals are really a way of information spreading, yet it often spread unwarranted information

Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

We live in a world full of different problems: environmental, social, racial. Many of these problems require more public attention in order to be overcome. There are many ways to inform people about some problem and one of these methods is scandals. Though scandals can sometimes bring some good, I believe they mostly prove to be the worst way of informing public. Scandals mostly contain not inexact information. Besides, the masses who pay attention to scandals mostly do not care about the problem it presents, they just like scraps. And after all there are better methods of public information.

Many people believe that scandals spread information about a problem which needs attention and make people aware of it. It is partially true, scandals truly share some information. However mostly this information is exaggerated and contains some incorrectness. This erroneous information is being spread with facts in order to make people more excited and annoyed about some problem. However this incorrectness will mislead people who accept it as exact fact. They will not know what is truth and what is imaginary and eventually can not defeat the problem moreover they can panic population. For example in my country there are many online newspapers which does not care about truth much, their main purpose is to increase their ratings. Thus they often share superficial, unchecked or even incorrect information only to make people to read their news.

There are many people for whom scandals are the main source of information about some problems. They accept almost every piece of information and scrap they get as a plain truth. This is resulted by the fact that they do not know much about that problem. Moreover, getting information about a particular problem only from scandals, which as I mentioned above usually include incorrect information, they continue to be unaware. Thus this resembles to some kind of close loop, which make these careless people to remain oblivious. Furthermore, as I have noticed, mostly people who rely on scandals as a source of information about some problem, in fact does not care for that problem. Every time, when they find another scandal about other problem, they easily shift to that new one and often forget about the previous.

Scandals really can draw public attention on the issue discussed. However if government or some association also wants that problem to be solved, they need other methods of information distribution, which will be more relying and will not mislead population. This kind of methods can be public discussions with people well aware of a problem, or spreading flysheets with problem description and the suggestions which can help solve it, even advertisements justified by informed people can be useful.

To sum up, scandals are really a way of information spreading, however it often spread unwarranted information, which not only does not help to solve some problem, but can even hinder its solution. Moreover, people who rely on scandals, does not gain through understanding of a problem, thus can not help to solve it. And at last there are many other helpful and better methods of information distribution.