IELTS-Some say that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time.

QUESTION:

Some say that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time, because it has no direct connection with people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

ANSWER:

Due to increase of news readers many news agencies are publishing variety of newspapers and different news channels all over the world. Some people believe that reading newspaper and watching television news is a squander of time. According to this statement, I am completely disagreeing that it helps to acquire wisdom and intelligence for the people.

Newspaper reading helps to be informative and boost confidence. People can be vigilant and protect their property if any theft in their area by reading newspaper. It makes them to be alert and prevent further theft in that area. Sudoku, Crosswords competition and puzzle makes people more knowledgeable. Sports news motivates youngster to participate more sports competitions and helps to become athlete. Moreover, job classifieds in newspaper helps job seekers to attend more interviews which result in higher success rate of job offer. World news section in newspaper helps people to know about global happenings and their affairs. Brief description about the newspaper assists people aware about particular situation and clear confusion about specific information. Government announcement about facilities and funds helps people to utilize and get on time. Advertisement in newspaper improves to aware about new products and their discounts. Newspapers alleviate to read discoveries and scientific research. It ventilates the grievances of the public and form the public opinion. They keep public and the government in close contact.

Watching television news yields to know about famous personalities and their way of life. Latest weather report and announcement about storms and cyclones helps people to be safe. Political leader's speech, work and involvement help to gain knowledge about the politics.

To conclude, reading newspaper and watching television news helps in various ways to the people. This news is informative, advisable, judgment to the people. It is vital to every one's life.