Should we save and restore some languages?

There is nothing unusual about a single or two languages dying. In fact, throughout mankind history, communities and dynasties have come and gone all the time. However, the situation is much different presently, languages are disappearing with a fast pace as a result of unison in trades and cultures. For the very first time, linguists shift their concerns on the survival of some languages. Nevertheless, some people think it is a waste of financial resource, which is countered by the opinion that the alternative may be the end of a community. Whereas both opinions have their own points and reason, in my own perspective, effort should be spared to restore forgotten languages.

People who advocate the funding of government to protect minor languages hold several reasons. Firstly, held within each language is the identity of the community of which it represents. Therefore, it is this factors that decide the distinctive and unique nature of different cultures. What is more, Languages are known to evolve along with the progress made by a community, hence, each historical event leaves large impacts and adaptations on the language itself. For an example, Canadian English, as a matter of fact, holds some similarities with American and Britain English, which indicates the struggling history of Canada striving to escape from the influences of the most powerful nations. And thus, studying those languages may help linguists to figure out the history each nation.

On the other hand, the process of restoration of forgotten languages may be, according to some people, a waste of financial resource and time consuming. Firstly, to restore a language, the community of which it is a part must have the respect for that language itself. With all things settled, there are likely to be a huge need for courses, tutoring and materials. Teachers and linguists have to be deployed to remote areas to search for documents. If the languages is to have a future in computer literacy, basic tasks such as getting the language written down, vocals and intonation recording and grammatical analyzing must be done, which is a huge waste to human and financial resources.

To put it in a nutshell, minor or not, languages do enrich our spiritual life, lift our horizon and improve our cultural enlightenment. Therefore, attempts should be made to save and preserve languages.