The role of universities in providing students with the proper education and consequently a good job

One of my IELTS task 2 essays.

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university!

Nowadays, higher education is the best portal to highly intellectual employees. this requirement hasn't been a demand for the work market until recently. Due to the growing use of technical devices with specialized softwares, physical abilities -in most cases- are no longer needed. As a result, there's an increased debate about the role of universities in preparing students for their future jobs. Some people think that it should provide graduates wit the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that it should only give access to knowledge for its own sake .For me, I agree with the latter opinion. I think that providing students with the skills needed in their workplaces will affect the amount of knowledge they will acquire in universities and will limit their job choices in the long run

As a matter of fact, All university study programs has a curriculum which is restricted by a schedule with specific activities. If the the universities add to their program a time to teach job skills, the professors will have to cut down the time needed for theoretical teaching .For example, studying medicine is a very long and hard process which requires time and devotion. Asking the students to practice medicine beside their study will absolutely have a negative effects on their concentration and eventually on their total knowledge. the not-well-qualified medical practiotioner will need more time to be as their colleagues and to get good job opportunities.

In the current time, scientific fields are rapidly converging and are very dependent on each other.so, hence it's not a wise step to prepare a student with the skills required for a certain profession ignoring the others. If we look at an engineering student, he can work in many fields e.g. architecture, programming, mathematics and even in medical appliances. Tightening the prospects of a young person by teaching him the skills for one job- which will also result in limiting his knowledge as I mentioned before- will affect the community and the work market badly and it may even increase the rate of unemployment.

so, it's evident that if universities provided graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace, they would have less knowledge to work with and fewer job choices to select from. therefore, I totally disagree to engage universities in the process of training graduates job skills. At the end, I ask graduate students to focus on their studies and to putt off the job training for now.