IELTS essay - role of news editors in broadcasting the news

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Kindly review and please rate the essay with a band score :)

NEWS is the information received from all the four directions - North , East, West & South and it is the media that, rules the minds of the people around the world by playing with it. There are several factors that determine the selection of news by the news editors and reporters and it so prominent that it invades the decisions of the citizens of the nation. In my honest opinion, care should be taken in the way it is broadcasted.

The reporters of various media take an upper hand in publishing the type of news to the world. Most of them are dirty politics, love affairs of celebrities, accidents and corruption cases which are described in detail in the main columns in the newspapers. Nowadays news editors only concentrate on the rating received and the selling of the newspapers. For example, there was a gal in our town who was raped while traveling in the bus and later hospitalized when found injured. She was all over the media for about 1 month daily. Everyone was talking about her and more than her suffering it was the media who tortured her with questions.

On the contrary, the news editors should try to be conscientious on providing the messages better to the audience. Young children, students and teenagers are the most affected amongst the crowd. We understood the same when Indian students protested against the Srilankan- Tamil eelam issue. Media has the significant power to drive the nation by delivering good and trusted facts in order to strengthen the democracy.

To conclude, as we all are keen in knowing the happenings around the world and to keep ourselves updated round the clock, it would be greatly appreciated if the editors pay attention in the type of news published and broadcasted.