IELTS ; The roads are getting more crowded with increasing number of cars

With the increasing number of the cars, the road are getting more crowded and the environment are becoming more polluted. Therefore, some people suggest that these problems could be addressed by making the petrol price higher. But I think whether it is the best solution still remains questionable.

Undoubtedly, increasing the petrol price can control the demand for the oil. Less consumption of gas not only means less traffic on the road but also means less release of the exhaustion in to the atmosphere.

However, this solution might not be very effective in tackling those problems and may even have some side effects. First of all, pollution dose not only come from the cars. There are many other sources of pollution, such as factories and power plants, which are responsible for the damage to the environment. Raising the price of oil only could not control the pollution from these places. Secondly, there will be very limited influence among the traffic if the price of petrol goes up, because people seldom give up travelling by car only because petrol price goes high. Lastly, the more money people spend in fuel may result in less money spent in other products and services, which may lead to the decrease in GDP or even an economic down turn.

Except for this solution, people could invest more in finding the new clearer alternative source of energy to totally get rid of the annoying pollution problem caused by burning the fuel. Also, measures like raising up the parking fee within down town areas or upgrading the infrastructure could be considered to address the traffic congestion issues.

To conclude, while raising the price of petrol alone might not be effective enough to tackle the pollution and traffic problems, there are lots of others options. With the belief in technology and people's increasing awareness of environment protection, a better society is assured in the future.

Hey guys, any suggestions and valuable comments are appreciated.