IELTS Task 2-The rising levels of congestion and air pollution

The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

In recent times, we have seen a sharp increase in the number of cars plying on the roads. This increase in cars has resulted in traffic jams and pollution which results in health related problems in humans as well as severe depression. This problem can be tackled in various ways, some of which will be discussed below.

To begin with, the government can reduce the fares of public transportation. The reduction in fares will encourage more working people to opt for buses, metros and other modes of public transport. As we all know, if public transportation is much cheaper, the general public would definitely use it to get to work and to avoid the morning peak hour rush. Additionally, more bus and train stops have to be constructed so that people would not have to walk a longer distance to get to work.

Furthermore, an increase in the cost of owning and using a private vehicle has to implemented to discourage people from using their own cars. This can be seen from the introduction of tolls in highways and motorways in many cities. Evidently, people would have the urge to leave their cars at home and prefer commuting using public transportation.

To sum up, fare reduction of public transportation as well as hiking ownership and usage costs of vehicles would encourage people to commute using public transport rather than using their own cars. The issue of the ever declining quality of life in cities has to be sorted out and by introducing such measures we can improve the health of the present population and the next generations.