The rising levels of congestion and air pollution

The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the issue of the increasing levels of traffic jams and air pollution is very problematic in most

of the world cities. In order to change this decline in the quality of life, government must encourage people to use

public transport over private vehicles. These points of view will be considered below.

On the one hand, there are various ways of decreasing the trend of driving private cars. Firstly, the most important

of these is improving public transport such as train or bus. Funds should be allocated in order to make them more reliable and cheaper.

Also, bus or train stations should be located closer to each other so that people do not have to walk for longer distances,

this will save time for them. Moreover, using more public transport, instead of private cars, save environment and people's health.

On the other hand, more and more people are using personal cars for transport and it is justified.

People can drive their car to any destination at any time without having to wait for a bus or train.

Today, public transport is very uncomfortable and dirty. Furthermore, it is absolutely unsafe and fare is expensive.

To sum up, government should allocate money for public transport in order to make them reliable, comfortable and cheap.

Then people will gradually change the private cars on public transport. However, it is matter of people's personal choice.

People should think about the nature and next generation's life.