The restraint of power - "Of all the manifestations* of power essay

"Of all the manifestations* of power, restraint in the use of that power impresses people most."

*manifestations: apparent signs or indicators

The author of this topic suggests that limiting the power of a ruler is what most people desire. Evolution of social system over centuries, no matter in the west or in the east, has shown that dictatorship devastates the harmony of a country, which causes rebellion and civil wars. I therefore agree to the author's point of view because of the following points.

Firstly, it is very likely for an overpowered person to abuse his power. Many people with evil thoughts climb up the social ladder to exercise their wicked plan. During the Second World War, by sending troops to many countries, Hitler ordered the massacre of Jews, killing at least millions of innocent people.

In addition, implementing the policy of an individual or a single political group cannot make sure the outcome of decision serves everyone's interest. This is the reason why separation of power is prevalent in modern society. In common law practice, the division of power into legislative, executive and judicial power ensures the trial is made by as many people as possible, so that the trial is just and fair.

Last but not least, everyone plays a pivotal role in an organization daily operation. However, junior members may not dare to speak out when they feel that senior members are superior to them. Limiting senior member's power alleviates pressure of lower level member and therefore encourages juniors to express themselves. Business giants such as Google let their staff in all levels to voice out their thoughts so that they can collect innovative ideas in an effective way.

From the above reasons, we can safely conclude that the restraint of power is very desirable in the modern society. It avoids anyone from abusing the power and allows others possible to give constructive advice to the society.