What is the responsibility of an educational institution?

What is the responsibility of an educational institution? Educational institutions are responsible for educating future generations to prepare them in their future careers. Besides, educational institutions help students to improve communication and leadership skills and build self-confidence. Educators always encourage students to work hard in achieving the goals in their life. However, dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed is not the aim of an educational institution. In fact, educators will give advice to students on how to achieve the goal in their life rather than dissuading the students. No one in the world will know what will happen tomorrow. Therefore, no one can foresee whether a student will succeed in the chosen field. I disagree that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Can educational institutions foresee the future of a student? No, they cannot. They can just predict the chances of a student to succeed in the future based on academic performances, communication and leadership skills. There is no one system to determine whether a student will succeed in the future. Besides, we cannot conclude whether a student will succeed in fields which they are unlikely to succeed in their young age. People will work hard to achieve well in the field of study that are interested. However, someone could argue that we can predict the success of a student in a field of study that are unlikely to achieve based on academic results. We can do that but this prediction is not 100% reliable. There are students who are good in achieving good results in examination because they are good at memorizing facts and applying theories but they are lack of communication and leadership skills. Does it mean that all these students will succeed in the fields of study that are unlikely to succeed? On the other hand, there are students who are excelling moderate in examinations but they participated curriculum activities to build up communication and leadership skills. This type of students may achieve well in the field of study that are unlikely to succeed too. Therefore, educational institution cannot judge the ability of students solely by academic performances.

Dissuading students from pursuing fields of study is not one of the aims for educational institutions. As mentioned in the above paragraph, the responsibilities of educational institution are allow students to obtain knowledge, improve communication and leadership skills. Educational institutions should indeed encourage students to achieve their dream in a correct way. Everyone has his or her own dream to achieve and he or she has the rights to do so. We should not deter anyone to achieve the goals in the life when we think that someone will not succeed in certain field of study . This is the right of human beings in a civilized country to choose their path of life. Beside that, students have their own definition of success in achieving a goal in the chosen field of study. Educational institutions should respect the students' decisions and thus helping them to achieve it. For instance, the educational system in the United States is successful because educators give freedom to students in deciding their future. Science in the United States is more advanced compared to other countries. This is because the creative thinking of students in the United States is not restricted, therefore many students able to tackle a biological problem using different methods or novel methods. Every student can achieve success in the chosen field of study even though the field which are unlikely to succeed, as long as they are putting efforts and interests when studying the subject.

Nonetheless, students require the advices from educational institution when they are doubted about the field of study. Most of the students are facing a dilemma in choosing their higher level of study. Students do not know whether they are suitable in a certain field of study. Now, educational institutions play an important role in letting students to understand what they want for their future. Educational institutions can analyze a student's problem and try to search for a solution.

In conclusion, educational institutions should not deter students in pursuing the field of study that are unlikely to succeed. Educational institutions cannot foresee the future of students. Dissuading students from pursuing the field of study which they are unlikely to succeed is not one of the aims in educational institutions. Educational institutions should indeed help and encourage students to achieve the goal in their life.