IELTS:It has been reported that several minority languages become extinct each year.

Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It has been reported that several minority languages become extinct each year. However, some people are indifferent to this phenomenon, holding that it can reduce the barrier between people from different cultures. From my point of this view, the negative effects of this trend far outweigh the convenience that it may bring.

Admittedly, the reduction in the number of languages may bring the world closer, which will result in the assimilation of different cultures. Still, based on the fact alone, the statement remains challenged when more aspects are taken into consideration.

To begin with, when a language dies, the knowledge of and ability to understand the culture who spoke it is threatened because the teachings, customs, oral traditions and other inherited knowledge are no longer transmitted among native speakers. For example, science in linguistics, anthropology, prehistory and psychology may lose some diversity in data sources with the extinction of some endangered languages.

In addition, language diversity helps us human beings exploit the world in a long run. As Samuel Johnson, a famous British writer, once said, "Language is the dress of our thought." People, who come from different regions and speak indigenous language, usually have disparate opinions about value, life and even cosmos. In principle, these differences could promote discussion and research on science, society and religion, all of which play a significant role in human beings' development. Really, it is hard to imagine that everyone share the same value and mother tongue.

To sum up, a language, no matter how few its speakers are, is invaluable cultural heritage of human beings. Therefore, we should cherish this wealth, protect language diversity and carry all languages down from generation to generation.