Replacement of the president of a company because of low profits (GRE argument)

The following recommendation was made by the Human Resources Manager to the board of directors of the Fancy Toy Company.

"In the last three quarters of this year, under the leadership of our president, Pat Salvo, our profits have fallen considerably. Thus, we should ask for her resignation in return for a generous severance package. In Pat's place, we should appoint Rosa Winnings. Rosa is currently president of Starlight Jewelry, a company whose profits have increased dramatically over the past several years. Although we will have to pay Rosa twice the salary that Pat has been receiving, it will be well worth it because we can soon expect our profits to increase considerably."

This proposal recommending the replacement of the President of the company is not based on substantial data. The author has made his/her proposal based on assumptions rather than concrete facts. There are a lot of fallacies, which need to be considered for this argument to receive any credibility.

A leader - in this case Pat salvo - cannot change everything by herself. Though presiding over a company is a matter of huge responsibility and the president ought to take the blame for the failed performance of the company, the successful functioning of the organization is possible only with the help of a cooperative support staff. Instead of firing the president of the company, a sincere effort needs to be put up to revamp the support staff. The president might turn out to be a better leader in the presence of the new staff.

Recommending the resignation of the current president and appointing the new lady in her place might turn out to be a huge blunder. For once, the recommended candidate for the post has served as the president of a company, which targets an entirely different set of consumers. These two companies' markets and products are very different and a comparison of the profits of these two cannot be made the basis for this recommendation.

Moreover, emphasizing my earlier point, the increased profits of the Starlight Jewelry might have to do with an extremely competent support staff. Rosa might enjoy the cooperation of her subordinates to a great extent and that might be the main reason for the company's success. If this cooperation is not seen in her tenure at Fancy Toy, it might not help much in increasing the profits, which was the main reason for her appointment.

The author is also speculating an increase in the profits of the company on Rosa's appointment. It might as well turn out that the company might plunge into heavy losses due to her incompetence or lack of coordination with her subordinates. The proposed raise in the salary for this post might not serve its purpose at all.

Therefore, the board of directors needs to consider all these possibilities before giving a nod to this proposal. On part of the author, he/ she has to provide enough data supporting his/her recommendation for it to gain some merit.