Reducing the overall consumption of natural resources by creating awareness

The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying more up to date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is certainly true that the dramatic rise in level of population around the world has resulted a drastic increase in consumption of natural resources. This ever-increasing ingestion of natural resources has spurred deleterious effects on maintaining a sustainable environment. In order to control this phenomenon, I strongly agree that government should create awareness and encourage people to consume and produce products that sustain for a longer period of time.

As the 21st century begins, growing number of people are increasing the demand of natural resources like water, energy, sanitation, wood, disposal of wastes, food and electricity. This rising level of consumption per capita is depleting the natural resources at even higher rate. This over-expenditure of resources is awfully degrading the environment conservation. In order to overcome this environment deforestation, it has become highly essential for companies to produce products which stay for a longer period. Moreover, companies should not compromise on the quality of product and must adhere to the stringent policies of quality assurance. This will enable consumers to get better quality. By doing this, consumers will get better quality of product and would have to buy the same product so often. This overall reduces the buying patterns of consumers and also has positive impact on having sustainable environment.

Another significant measure to reduce the consumption of natural resources is that government should emphasize on re-use of several items as many times as possible. This will overall reduce their intake of products. A good illustration of this is that households consume food containers for a longer of time. Also, producing containers from biodegradable materials as no energy is generated by bio- fuels and therefore they are considered to be less harmful to the environment. In addition to this, government should deter people to reduce the increasing usage of plastic bags as they create a devastating impact on the environment. Furthermore, current generation are prone to using latest electronic luxurious items that are highly likely impact the surrounding. So, government should discourage the over consumption of electronic and other deluxe items to save the environment and society as whole.

All in all, I feel that companies and government play a vital role in reducing the overall consumption of natural resources by creating awareness among common people and by generating products from environment friendly raw materials. If this kind of eco-friendly policy is followed then there is no reason why overall depletion of natural resources is not reduced.