What are the reasons behind lack of facilities &services for disabled population?

What are the reasons behind lack of facilities and services for disabled population? How does this affect such people? What are the ways of improving their lives?[/b]

Nature has been unjust with many humans and this clearly reflects in a sizable disabled population. We see many people with physical and mental disabilities in pathetic conditions. In fact, the recent statistical data suggests that about ten percent of the global population is handicapped. This means, there should be proper provision of facilities and services for them in each and every corner of the world, which, sadly does not exist. There are many reasons behind this and the outcomes are shocking.

Lack of attention towards needs of differently able is attributed to pessimistic attitude of others. Generally speaking, most of us are not concerned about people with special needs if such person is not someone near and dear to us. This is mere selfishness, nothing else. Again, orthodox ones do not accept genetic or medical reasons behind disability normally but consider it to be a curse, a punishment imposed by God for some wrongdoings. Hence, it is common to see people keeping distance from those who need more care and love as life is not easy for them. As a whole, impairment is a personal problem and it seems that outsiders are indifferent to it. There are hardly any initiatives taken on national level to make lives of such people easy and worth living.

As a result of this, physically challenged population has derelict existence. There are very few up to date organizations working in this field. We do not get proper educational facilities for them; those that are, are too expensive for the middle and lower class. Not to mention public places, where differently able people cannot move freely without anyone's assistance. Even there are no enough training centers to make these people self independent. Thus, family members have to put lots of efforts to nurture them. Moreover, as far as self esteem of disabled ones is concerned, they consider themselves to be burden to their families if they are mentally normal or else lead unproductive lives till they die.

Many steps are needed in this regard immediately. We should look for better alternatives to make their lives fulfilling. After all, handicapped people are humans and they deserve to be treated properly. The first step in this direction is to change attitude towards them. Just being sensitive towards them is not going to improve conditions overnight. Further committed research is necessary to improve infrastructure for people with varying degrees of disabilities. There must be sufficient help from governments as well as philanthropic organizations to improve conditions for disabled people. Sincere efforts should be made to unite them with the mainstream.

To conclude, if more funding is allotted in this regard, facilities and services for handicapped population would generate greater employment opportunities. It would also be a selfless humane act for our society. Technology, combined with dedicated professionals would help in altering stigma attached to disability