TOEFL:reading fiction or watching movies

127) Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies.

Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

Reading fiction and watching movies differ a lot from each other. Personally, if I have to choose one of them, I will certainly opt for the first one. Reading fiction is more advantageous than watching movie.

First of all, reading fiction such as novels or short story does not impair the sight as watching movies do. Many studies affirm that reading books does not harm our eyes as much as watching movie in screen do. For example, if someone read a book for three hour, he will not feel the same pain in his eyes as if he watchs a movie for the same time.

In addition, people can take their novels with them and read it anywhere and any time without disturbing other people. People can read their novels in the bus, in the car, at the kitchen, in the garden, at the beach and at any time of the day. This is more practical for people who especially have a very busy schedule.

Another advantage of reading fiction is that it allows people to be gain a good vocabulary. Thus, it helps them to have a rich grammar that they can use it in their writing. For example , schools generally coerce their students to read some novels in order to improve their level of reading and stimulation.

Other people affirm that watching movies is better because it is more memorable than reading fiction. I think that people who watch movies are generally attracted by the personalities rather that focusing on the story. So, if they will be queried about the story, they will remember the scene of the movie not exactly the events of the story.

Whether people choose to read fiction or watch movie, the best is to choose the one that is more beneficial without being too much possessed by it.