IELTS: Reading books has more benefits in development of imagination and language skills

With the development of technology, watching television brings to than reading books. However, books has got their attention that some people argue reading books helps people widen more imagination and language skills than watching TV. From my point of view, reading books truly creates the better effect than watching TV because of 2 reasons: reading books obliges us to imagine consecutively and reading is a better way to remember things, at the same time increase language skills.

Practice makes perfect. It is also true to imagination acquired from reading books. Literally, people must use their creative side of the brain to visualize what the books want to tell us. As a result, the more people figure out the messages conveyed in the books, the more their brain works, the more their imagination expand. This fact is an exciting aspect of reading books that watching TV could not give us. Additionally, looking at the television screen just satisfies our entertaining need in visual perception without less fancy. To demonstrate this point of view, let's take a look in my experience of enjoying Harry Potter books and films. It can be assured that reading those books makes me create a magnificent view of Hogward sorcery school, which is presented normally in films.

Equally importantly, reading is a better way to widen the depth of language skills. Although television is so attractive, it has some distractive factors effecting on the perceiving of language skills, such as noise sounds, fast speed to keep up with the content.On contrary, people can control reading speed in order to get more silent time to ponder over what they read, while it is annoying and complicated to change between television channels. In addition, according to studies, reading process benefits us to remember more than just watching TV. From my experience, I just remained some main contents when watching Harry Potter films. However, it is better to remember more language usage as well as small details by reading them.

In sum, I strongly believe that reading books has more benefits in development of imagination and language skills than watching TV because of above reasons.