Task 2: Nowadays, there has been a rapid progress of modern communication

Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there has been a rapid progress of modern communication that has declined people's time to see their relatives. Although it is believed that this can give a detrimental effect on their social lives, there are also some benefits of the communication development.

Communication is closely related to convenient device which can be used to send email and messages. It affects the way of people to communicate with their friends. Research reveals that 20.3% of respondents in China tend to use text messaging as one of communication ways, and Australian prefer communicating by email, with precisely 12.5%. There is no doubt that the intensity of direct interaction among people becomes less and they are more rarely to meet face-to-face.

Conversely, as technology continues to change, the education world obtains an advantage of advanced communication such as student can be educated with technology usage. For instance, lecturers just need to ask their students to collect the assignments by using email, so they can check the task results immediately. What is more, communication technology allows people to keep in touch with their families or friends who may live farther away. Thanks to both benefits, the more advanced technology is, the more easily for people to communicate with others.

The aforementioned evidence shows that the impacts of communication technology address both positive and negative in societies' life. It is considerable to keep in mind that technological change is inevitable to find an optimal relationship, and this pattern is a continual process. Societal advancement relies on technology which have unanticipated side-effects that also must be mitigated by people.