'public to use more public transportation' - IELTS band

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

What other measures do you think might be effective.

Nowadays, heavy traffic and pollution has become very controversial issues that everyone wants to prevent .Economists, politicians and even common citizens are involved in a giant discussion of the ways to solve these problems. The are those who claim that a hike in petrol prices is the best solution to get rid of these issues. However, I strongly disagree with this idea and suggest more effective solutions for these issues.

It is undeniable that the use of private vehicles to commute is the major reason for growing traffic and pollution. By increasing petrol prices would not limit those from using private vehicles. This policy would also affect the fare of public transport and commodity price. It is unfair with those who have very low income and always raising money for their basic needs. There are several efficient measures for these matters.

Using public transportations instead of private vehicle is one of the best solutions. To do this we need to improve the quality of public transport and services. For example, if sufficient sky trains and underground train systems were build and effectively maintained in metro areas then the traffic on the roads would be drastically reduced. Other solutions is for long distance trains, making couch services more attractive, comfortable and affordable would start people using public transport instead of private cars. To solve the problem of air pollution cleaner fuel needs to be used. Existing technologies of electric car and CNG powered vehicles are safer and cleaner to use. Public Transport authorities should run CNG powered buses to solve the problem of heavy traffic as well as air pollution.

However, vehicle exhaust is not the leading cause of air pollution. Release of pollutants in the atmosphere due to rapidly growing manufacturing industries is the major cause towards air pollution. We could better handle this problem if we could control industrial waste discharge and adopt more environmental friendly materials and equipment.

To conclude, in my opinion, education public to use more public transport and the government to run more efficient transport system using safer and cleaner fuel based vehicles are the better measures to control growing traffic and pollution problem.