PUBLIC LIBRARIES SHOULD NOT BE MAINTAINED

TOPIC: PUBLIC LIBRARIES SHOULD NOT BE MAINTAINED ANYMORE SINCE WE ALREADY HAVE COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

In these modern era, no one can deny the immense capabilities of technology. Some people believe that public libraries should already be denied of its maintenance for informations that can be read on libraries can now be found ad stored on a computer. However, I strongly believe that public libraries should still be maintained for it does not only hold the writings of the wise, but it also serves as a good place for learning.

Public library is a place where you can find real treasures. It holds the thoughts and ideas of the prominent people, mainly on literature, from the past until the present that is being kept on a thing called, book. Books are considered to be the source of valid information for it is written by professional writers and has undergone legal processes before it is being publicized. It is through these public libraries where valid informations are being stored, held and read, hence it should not be destroyed neither left unmaintained.

In addition, library is a perfect place for students to study. Library setting promotes a quiet place with less distraction that is suitable for studying. In my own experience, studying at the library makes me focused more on doing my assignments compared to studying at home. There are lots of things that divert my mind when I study at home, such as TV, computer games and even food that delay me from doing what is needed to be done academically.

Moreover, the source of information that is being found at the library is accessible for everyone. People who are not well-oriented on computer may appreciate more of the availability of public libraries than computer technologies. In my own experience, I had a classmate who does not know how to browse the Internet, as a result, he consults the library for informations he needed with our homework. I cannot say he is having a hard time searching for informations because it seems like he is used to it. If it was not for the library, he will be having a hard time on searching for informations that he need.

To sum up, there are several advantages of having public libraries present in our community, and clearly technologies have various limitations. Therefore, I strongly believe that maintaining public libraries are important and cannot be outweighed by computer technologies.