Prunty County must undertake the same kind of road improvement as the Butler County; GRE Argument

[b]Q. Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

Road Improvement in the Prunty County

In the statement given, it is said that in the Prunty County even after reducing the speed limits on the highway, the number of accidents taking place has not reduced. Whereas in the Butler County as a result of the improved road conditions the number of accidents taking place have reduced upto 25%. Although the results obtained may be look substantial at first, but there are various factors that are being ignored.

The fact that the accidents always take place at high speeds is not always true must be considered here. Accidents occur at slow speeds too. In case the rain in the region is more, as a result the road becomes slippery. Hence the chances of vehicles skidding away at slow speeds is a possibility. Also motor-cyclist slipping and falling as a result of the conditions shows that speed is not the only factor to be taken into account here.

Also the time of accidents taking place in the Prunty County is not mentioned here as overall situation is considered. It is possible that the drivers are driving at a reasonable speed within the limit, but at night the lights from the vehicles coming in the opposite direction can make driving difficult and can be a reason for the accidents. Also driving at night can be tough on the body as it is the time for people to sleep and driving at that time can take a toll on the body, hence drivers may doze off resulting in accidents.

In the Butler County, the accidents reported in the last five years have been reduced upto 25%. This can be as a result of the drivers being more responsible and driving cautiously than before. Also, the possibility of number of accidents have gone unreported is a major factor. Incase all the accidents would have been reported, it could be possible that the number of accidents reported presently may also be more than that of five years back. Hence, proper monitoring must be done for the accidents and all the accidents must be considered while comparing with the previous data.

Also in the given analysis, the data is given showing that the speed limit on the Prunty County highways were reduced from 55 miles per hour to 45 miles per hour last year and the number of accidents taking place have not reduced. But it is not stated for what amount of time the number of accidents taking place in the Prunty County is considered, as the amount of time considered maybe for a few months, and within a few months a huge difference could not be obtained. In case of Butler County, the analysis is done for 5 years and this is enough time to obtain some improvement amongst the driving people.

Hence, before coming to the conclusion that Prunty County must undertake the same kind of road improvement as the Butler County, all the factors must be taken into account and it must be made clear with proper statistical data that by following the improvement pattern the rate of accidents will be reduced.