Proud to be Americans - cause, event, consequences essay about the American Revolution

[write a cause, event, consequences essay about the American Revolution]

America was nothing but a group of English colonies, full of poor, uneducated farmers. This, England knew. So it was, that when it was agreed to tax the Americans, even though they had no representation in Parliament, the English thought that they would have no trouble. Yet England underestimated the pioneers. Men who had fought Indians, survived famines and blizzards, built their own houses and towns, planted their own crops and owned their own land were not the kind of men to meekly watch their rights be ignored. It was commonly known that, according to Bill of Rights, you couldn't tax people who had no representation in Parliament - yet that was what England had done. The Americans were furious, and several people started whispering about rebelling unless their rights were granted them. Still, King George the 3rd was not worried in the least, since he believed that soon everything would settle down. He grossly underestimated the Americans. The first act of rebellion was when a group of men and boys boarded a ship, and dumped all the tea it was carrying into the harbor. It was taxed tea. Everywhere tensions were high as the colonists waited to see what king George would do. And then it was the the king made his crowning mistake - instead of listening to the Americans, he sent soldiers to Boston, ordering that it's harbor be closed.

When the news reached America that their king was closing the Boston harbor, it was like putting a lighted torch into a lake of gasoline. Everywhere people gathered, protesting loudly against the injustice done them. They gave food to the people in Boston. And, secretly, every man sharpened his knife, made bullets, and waited. Then, on April 19, 1775, a shot was fired which was "heard around the world". A party of minutemen fought the English at the battles of Lexington and Concord, and won a decisive victory. Soon every farmer left their fields and marched to join the American army, which was being led by George Washington. On July 4th, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed. And, finally, although it took eight painful years, America won her freedom. King George was forced to admit that the army of "country bumpkins" had outsmarted him. But this was nowhere near the end of America's troubles.

Although America had won the war, she still had much work to go through before she would be able to hold her own against other countries. Financially she was in shambles, and was forced to borrow huge sums of money which would take years to pay back. Also, now that the English form of Government had been thrown off, it was necessary to form their own. Yet, in the end America succeeded. The thirteen colonies of proud pioneers became a nation of even prouder Americans. Today she is one of the most powerful nations in the earth. And still, although her citizens and bankers and lawyers instead of pioneers, her people are proud. Proud to be free. Proud of their heritage. Proud to call themselves Americans.