IELTS--the proportion of elderly people is increasing steadily, positive or negative?

In many countries, the proportion of elderly people is increasing steadily. Does this trend have more positive than negative effects on society?

Currently, the population of the old keeps a steady rise among countries, particularly in the affluent countries. From my perspective, this is a positive trend for our society.

Apparently, the government has more flexible money if the pressure of the old remains steady. This is because the authorities can dedicate more funds to improving other infrastructure facilities, ranging from schools meeting people's basis right of receiving education to museums where people feel relax after the stiff competitions in the society, instead of senior houses. In this way, the level of citizens' quality is enhanced greatly, which benefits in building the knowledge-based society.

Furthermore, as the percentage of retirees grow gradually, the pressure the government shoulders relieves to a larger extent. Every year, the new born rate of the world increases dramatically, thus making the society difficult to assume the huge population stress. If more elderly people appear, it would pose a grave threat to the immature well-fare system in the society as a whole. What can be more disturbing is to contribute to instability on society.

Beyond that, the gradual increase percentage of the old is a positive sign for an ever-lasting society. Only if the medical care of a society are developing shiftily will more people prolong their life span and lower the rate of becoming old as well. Therefore, such society should be drawn on, playing a model role among others.

In conclusion, the elder population which remains a steady increase rate in many countries is positive phenomenon in terms of the limited funds, pressure and image of the government.