Toefl : professional athletes make too much money?

Help Wanted. Feedback appreciated.

Topic: agree or disagree: professional athletes make too much money.

A huge amount people have animosity towards the fact that professional athletes make so much money annually. On the other hand teachers, soldiers, scientists and many other respected people, who make great contribution to our society, do not get paid much. So many people come to the conclusion that athletes do not deserve what they earn. However, the way I see it, salary does not define the intrinsic value of an occupation. Economically, professional athletes do deserve a fat pay check.

Firstly, professional athletes make huge income to the sports industry and the whole society. The sports industry is very unique because it can generate interest in so many aspects. A stadium can bring billions of dollars interest by selling tickets and endorsed sports gear like a star's jersey and signed sneakers. According to statistics, back in 1990s Michael Jordan alone brought more than 10 billion income to the economy annually. So now the fact that Michael Jordan earned several million a year does not seem absurd at all. Athletes are just like expensive products that make huge interest.

Besides, professional athletes are relatively scarcer compared to teachers, scientists and people in other professions. For example most of the people can make a good teacher when you put your mind into it. But rarely can one make a great athlete that the whole world would like to pay to see his performance. To be a professional athletes not only require hard work but talent and excellent physical conditions as well. Such as a person with average height can seldom become a good basketball play in the NBA. So the few people who make it good players deserve a high salary, say Allen Iverson and Nate Robinson. Thus professional athletes make great amount of money for their scarcity.

Admittedly, the entertainment that professional athletes provide us cannot compare to the scientific discoveries, good education, defense of the country in intrinsic value. Many people think money should be used in serious business for example to put into public health system. However, nowadays professional athletes do more than just play sports. They are respected as well because they donate huge amount money each year and they attend caring programs that help the development of the society. For example in the NBA Cares, players visit other countries like China to bring inspiration and encouragement. And the players also help with much community work. Using their reputation influential professional athletes make big difference to the community. Thus, professional athletes are doing a more valuable job than ever.

In conclusion, professional athletes deserve what they earn because they spur the economy with huge interest; they are scarce and they care about the society as much as others do.