(IELTS) pressure on students good or not?

Pressure on school and university students is increasing and students are pushed to study hard when they are young. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

It is easy to hear that students tend to complain that the excessive pressure they need to shoulder is entirely beyond their limitation. Even to the college students, the competitive atmosphere become stronger day by day rather than decrease gradually since they have been admitted to the prestigious universities.

This kind of phenomenon can be understandable as none of parents hope that their children are inferior to others, especially in study. Thus, the only effective way for parents to do is drive their children to study hard no matter how unwilling they are. Indeed, quite a few students around us gain a high score and credit in such circumstances, leading to successful future eventually. In other words, students' potential can be kindled under the mounting pressure. Without the pressure, students might not be able to achieve success and waste their precious time spent on playing as well.

In spite of this, the obvious drawbacks of pressure on students cannot be ignored. Yong as a child, their childhood are occupied by tons of books, which makes them become study machines rather than versatile youngsters. Additionally, once they feel tired on study and disobey what the parents said, it is hard to drive them back. Worse still, a few students lack communicative ability as all their time have been spent in reading books.

Overall, I take the view that pressure should be moderate. Otherwise, students would become bookworms who couldn't be called as human beings. Reasonable pressure, giving students' motivation, bring benefits outweigh drawbacks.(252)