TOEFL : which on do you prefer? serious movies or amusing movies

Nowadays, watching movies has become profoundly common among the people. However, there is a lack of agreement among the people, on what kind of movie should be watched. Although some people believe that watching serious movies are more beneficial, others prefer to spend their time watching entertaining movies. In my opinion, serious movies are more desirable and useful, because of following two reasons.

First, serious movies always help us learn something new. Obviously, learning new things throughout a movie leads to improve the quality of life among the people. For example, there are many movies about the relationships between people in a society that can be useful for communicating with others. Also, some documentary movies about our body health help us to care more about ourselves. In addition, someone who is foreigner in a country, would be able to enhance his language and communicating skills by watching movies about the culture and living conditions in that country.

The second reason is that when we watch a serious movie it makes us feel that we have spent our time on something valuable and useful. Undoubtedly, it is very important for a person to feel satisfied about the movie, and it would happen when he knows that the movie was worth to watch. For an instance, an entertaining movie may cause you feel happy during the film, but after watching it, you may feel worried about wasting your time. On the other hand, a serious movie makes you improve your knowledge, and you know that something you learnt, would lead you to overcome your problems in the future.

In conclusion, according to the justifications I made, I do believe that serious movies are more beneficial, because they help us to learn something new and useful, and also, they make us feel satisfied about spending time for watching the movie.