Positive or negative aspects of giving aid to the poorer countries: An IELTS

Many people think that giving aid to the poorer countries has more negative aspects than positive ones. To what extent do you agree/ disagree?

In recent years, many organisations- governmental and non-govermental (NGOs) voluntarily contribute to help the poor people of their own countries or foreign countries. Although this benevolent contribution in humanity has many positive aspects, some believes there are potential negative consequences. In my opinion, the good aftermath of this action outweights possible bad ones. The more the aids from rich and average social classes of a society the higher the level of solidarity, oneness, and general wellfare in the world. I strongly believe that people`s engagement in helping the poor will benefit everybody from a more stable economy growth and higher level of love and peace, which both prepare the ground for the "One Village" concept of Globalization doctorine.

Apparently, when people from affluent and developed countries notice the misery, famine, and poverty in the underdeveloped world, they would never take their blessings for granted. Having been grateful and considerate for this wellfare, they would be encouraged to find some ways to improve the lives of the poverty-striken nations. As a matter of fact, and according to many economic and philosophical theories (like Chaos Theory), the sustainable development of the world largly depends on an overall trend in growth and well being all around the world. In essence, an instable economical sitution in underdeveloped countries resulted by scarcity of resources would have a broader impact on the wealth of developed countries` people. However, financial intentions are not the sole purpose of aids and helps.

Accordingly, the people`s particiaption in giving aids to poorer nations also has humanistic and ethical motivations behind. As Dr. John Donne - a 17th century british philosopher put it beautifully: "No nan is an island entire of itself"; we are all part of a big thing that creates humanity. Thus, when people help each other, they make peace and spread love which finally benefit themselves too. This would be considered as another interpretation of the Golden Rule: "Love Thy Neigbor".

Therefore, all the abovementioned would be the tents of a fast pace trend called Globalization which seems ceaslessly will change the face of the world in next decades. In a world with no strangers, no borders and barriers, it will be definitely a very crucial goal when everybody well-being is the goal.

To conclude, i assume that the more people help each other in every way, especially financially, the more our world would be a better place to live for all human beings. That is why i stronlgy believe people should give hands to the poor and the needy. There are other means to turn this dream into reality.